State law AB 1887 updates

September 8, 2021

Effective January 1, 2017, state law AB 1887 prohibited using state funds to pay for travel to a state that has passed a law discriminating based on sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression. Recently, five more states were added to the Attorney General’s AB 1887 travel ban using state funds effective on the following dates:

  • July 1, 2021: Florida and Montana
  • July 8, 2021: West Virginia
  • July 29, 2021: Arkansas
  • August 1, 2021: North Dakota

More information about the law, including the list of affected states, is available on the Department of Justice website. A list of frequently asked questions is available on the UCOP travel website. If you have any questions, please contact Accounts Payable at